The Electoral Commission of Zambia (ECZ) has set February 12, 2019 as the date for both Parliamentary By-elections in Sesheke Constituency and seven Local Government By-elections.

In a press statement availed to the Lusaka Star, ECZ Public Relations Manager, Margaret Chimense said the Parliamentary By-election has been necessitated due to the death of late member of Parliament, Frank Kufakwandi.

The Public Relations (PR) manager said the Local Government By-elections in Anoya Zulu Ward of Chililabombwe District, Munyama Ward of Kabwe District, Nkomba Ward of Lundazi District, Chindwale Ward of Katete District, Chinkutila Wards of Chifunabuli District, Nkombwa Ward of Isoka District and Sewe Mungole Ward of Chavuma District were going to be held due to resignations and deaths of councilors of their respective .

However, the commission has asked aspiring candidates to lodge completed and attested declaration and nomination papers prescribed before a Magistrate, Local Court Magistrate, Head of a Government Primary or Secondary School, Principal of a College, Commissioner for Oaths, Election Officer or Returning Officer before 19:00hours on Thursday, January 10, 2019.

Chimense also said that the aspiring candidates for the Parliamentary By-election should have 15 supporters and nine supporters for the Local Government Be-elections.

She added that the aspiring candidates for Parliamentary By-elections will be required to pay a sum of K7500, 00.

Furthermore, Chimense said that every aspiring candidate in the Local Government By-elections should pay K750, 00 for City and Municipal Councils and K400 for District councils.

Chimense added that the money is nonrefundable and that candidates for both Parliamentary and Local Government By-elections are required to have a grade twelve certificate.

She said failure to comply with the requirements will render the nomination papers null and void.

The commission has also called on the Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) and media house wishing to monitor elections to apply for accreditation in the respective districts which will take place from December 31, 2018 to February 8, 2019.

The ECZ PR manager said the Commission will only allow an accreditation of not more than 10 members per political party to monitor the elections and that only five per political part will participate in the counting of votes.

She said only five officials from each political party will be accredited to accompany aspiring candidates into the Nomination Centre during the filing of nominations and that the rest should remain 400 meters away from the center in accordance with the law.

Related articles

Welcome to UNZA Dept of Media and Communication Studies

Learn more about us at unza.zm

From the archive

Western province hit by Konzo disease

Ministry of health has said there is need to raise awareness on Konzo disease which has attacked 25 people in western province. THE Ministry...